Reinoud Lavrijsen Teacher of the Year 2022

Reinoud Lavrijsen has been elected Teacher of the Year 2022 by the Dutch National Students Association. In Utrecht, the associate professor at the TU/e Department of Applied Physics came away with the national title. Lavrijsen: “I am extremely happy to have been elected subject geek.”

photo Rein Wieringa

Last year Lavrijsen already gained the title best master teacher at TU/e; today he received the national Teacher of the Year title for 2022. Besides the title, Lavrijsen is recipient of a grant of 25,000 euros to spend on educational innovation.

Lavrijsen: “I am extremely happy that I have been elected subject geek. I think I became Teacher of the Year 2022 by facilitating different learning styles and letting the students experiment with them. By inviting the students to critically joust about this with me as a teacher, my subjects are constantly shifting towards the best learning path for the students. At the same time, I am thereby nurturing the critical-thinking and confident students that we so desperately need.”

The election is organized annually by the Dutch National Students Association (ISO, Interstedelijk Studenten Overleg) to celebrate good teaching. Responding to the news, Rector Magnificus Frank Baaijens said, “We are incredibly happy for Reinoud, and very proud that he works for TU/e. This is a wonderful recognition for him.”


The jury praised Lavrijsen for the clarity of his communication towards the student, interaction and humor at the right time and an appropriate translation between content-based information and the student’s own perceptive experience. He also tries to build a bridge between higher vocational and academic education. “He shows how fantastically good our teachers in higher education are,” said the jury.

Lavrijsen found the whole process surrounding the award a wonderful but intense experience. "The work balance was a bit off at times, and that commotion only increased today with all kinds of interviews in Hilversum. Great fun, but I'll be glad when I can devote my time to my students again.”

Teacher of the Year Election

This year was the eighth time that the Teacher of the Year Election was organized by the ISO. The election is preceded by a long selection process in which each higher education institution and university can nominate a teacher. From these nominees, the five-member jury selects four finalists to compete for the honorary title. In 2020 TU/e lecturer Johanna Höffken won the title.

The other finalists were Astrid Timman-Jacobse (Arnhem-Nijmegen University of Applied Sciences), Ayokunu Adedokun (Leiden University) and Renske de Beijer (Inholland University of Applied Sciences). Each of them gave a mini-lecture during the election in which they showed their passion for education and their skills.

ISO president Lisanne de Roos: “Teachers are not always in the spotlight, but good teachers are crucial for education and students. During this election, these teachers are put in the spotlight, with attention zooming in on teachers who can inspire and enthuse students. Reinoud Lavrijsen is an excellent example of this.”

Comenius Network

In addition to an honorary title, a physical trophy and the educational grant of 25,000 euros, the Teacher of the Year also receives an honorary seat for one year on the board of this Comenius Network; a network of educational innovators in higher education.

In addition, Lavrijsen, along with the other three finalists, will become members of the Comenius Network in which winners of Comenius grants and motivated educational innovators convene to share experiences and knowledge about education (innovation).

Minister of Education

The network is a voice for teachers working on educational innovation and it regularly speaks with the Minister of Education, Culture and Science, Robbert Dijkgraaf, who said, “It's very important that our good teachers are put in the spotlight. I think our teachers are the heroes of education; we need them very badly. I hope that all teachers, and especially the winner, will continue with the wonderful work they do and pass on the torch for teaching to the next generation.”

Share this article