Electromagnetics group successful in HTMS call

The Electromagnetics group (EM) of the Department of Electrical Engineering at TU/e has done well in the new grant program High Tech Systems and Materials (HTSM). The group, under supervision of professor Anton Tijhuis and Bart Smolders, received grants for no less than three projects, representing a value exceeding two million euros. In total, 9 of 32 grants have been awarded to TU/e.

For these three projects, EM – the smallest group within EE – will be collaborating with chip manufacturer NXP and photolithography machine manufacturer ASML. Smolders can explain the success of his group. “We’re working with electromagnetism and its use in antennae systems, metrology, and hyperthermia therapy (for treating tumors with electromagnetic fields, ed.). Delft and Twente lack this type of groups, so our expertise is one of a kind in the Netherlands. One top of that, it’s much sought after by businesses.”

The other HTSM grants for TU/e were awarded to dr. Albert Schenning (ST), dr.ir. Sander Nijdam (TN), prof.dr. Dick Broer (ST), prof.dr.ir. Luc Brunsveld (BMT), prof.dr.ir. Jos Brouwers, and prof.dr.ir. Meint Smit (EE).

Share this article